MyAMATYC   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join AMATYC
Equipping Students for STEM Careers through Industrial Projects: The MAA PIC Math Program
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

10/8/2020
When: 10/08/2020
4:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Where: Zoom
United States
Contact: AMATYC
901.333.5643


Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Title: Equipping Students for STEM Careers through Industrial Projects: The MAA PIC Math Program


Presenter: 
Vinodh Chellamuthu and Jennifer Travis

Date: Thursday, October 8th

 

Time: 4:00 pm Eastern / 3:00 pm Central / 2:00 pm Mountain / 1:00 pm Pacific

 

Sponsoring Committee: AMATYC/MAA

 

Abstract: PIC Math (Preparation for Industrial Careers in Mathematical Sciences) aims to equip students with crucial skills for a STEM career. A PIC Math class provides students with an authentic experience solving a real-world problem for business, industry, or government. The presenters will share the successes and challenges mentoring student teams working on several research projects, including trail usage prediction for a national park, analyzing sales for a transmission company, analyzing fan promotions for a baseball team, and reducing can spoilage for a beverage packaging company. Presenters will share about how PIC Math can help students take ownership of a challenging problem they do not know how to solve, develop proficiency in data analysis and computer modeling, and engage with other students in a team.


     

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal