MyAMATYC   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join AMATYC
Mathematics Excellence Award FAQ
Share |

AMATYC Mathematics Excellence Award


Click on the Nomination Form link to submit all nominations.

All nominations must be received no later than November 1, 2019.


What is the AMATYC Mathematics Excellence Award?

The American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges Mathematics Excellence Award (the "ME Award”) is intended for educators who have made outstanding contributions to mathematics or mathematics education at the two-year college.


When is the ME Award made?

This recognition of excellence may be made every two years at the AMATYC annual conference held in even-numbered years.


What are the criteria used to select a recipient?

Award criteria are: national reputation, leadership and activities in professional organizations, professional talks and presentations, awards and grants received, publications, professional activities on a regional, state, and national scale, teaching expertise, and other contributions to mathematics and/or mathematics education.


Who reviews nominees?

A committee made up of a representative from each of the eight AMATYC regions is elected at the annual conference in even-numbered years. The committee is chaired, through the completion of its work, by the person who is the currently the immediate past-president. This committee reviews nominee packets based upon the criteria cited above, and presents the top three candidates to the AMATYC Executive Board. The Executive Board selects the individual, if any, to receive the award from the three top candidates.


Who may be nominated?

Any person who the nominator feels has "made outstanding contributions to mathematics or mathematics education at the two-year college” and has achieved a wide-spread reputation in this respect except:

  • Current board members are ineligible to be nominated
  • Former board members are ineligible to be nominated until at least three years have elapsed since leaving the board.


Who may nominate?

  • Any interested person may submit a letter of nomination.
  • Members of AMATYC may nominate themselves.
  • The nominator is responsible for securing documents to support the nomination.


Nominees will NOT be informed by the committee chair that they have been nominated.


What constitutes a complete nomination?

A complete nomination includes the four items listed in the checklist below, received by the AMATYC Past-President by November 1, 2019. Incomplete nominations will not be distributed to the committee. The nominator must submit all items below as a single pdf document using the nomination link near the bottom of this page.. All letters require a signature. Electronic signatures are acceptable.


Checklist for a complete nomination

  1. Nominee’s résumé must not exceed 3 pages. Pages in excess of 3 pages will not be distributed to the committee.

  2. Letter of support,* which is also the letter of nomination

  3. Letter of support*

  4. Letter of support*


*At least one of the letters should be from a region other than the nominee’s AMATYC region. Letters of support should be submitted on college letterhead, when appropriate.


What about the letters of support?

  1. At least one letter of support should be from outside the nominee’s AMATYC region.

  2. Letters of support that elaborate on those qualities mentioned in the résumé or point out additional exemplary characteristics of the nominee are more helpful to the committee than letters that reiterate items mentioned in the résumé.

  3. Please address the criteria when writing letters of support.

  4. Board members and members of the ME Award Committee may not write letters of support for any candidate for the AMATYC Mathematics Excellence Award.
The regions are defined as follow:

Region 1 – Northeast CT, ME, MA, NH, NY, RI, VT; NB, NL, NS, ON, PE, QC

Region 2 – Mid-Atlantic DE, DC, MD, NJ, PA, VA, WV

Region 3 – Southeast AL, FL, GA, LA, MS, NC, SC, TN, PR, VI & other Caribbean Islands

Region 4 – Midwest IL, IN, KY, MI, OH, WI

Region 5 – Central CO, IA, KS, MN, MO, NE, ND, SD; MB, SK

Region 6 – Southwest AR, AZ, NM, OK, TX; Mexico

Region 7 – Northwest AK, ID, MT, OR, WA WY; AB, BC, NT, NU, YT, & other International locations

Region 8 – West CA, HI, NV, UT; other Pacific islands



Selection Criteria

The criteria used by the selection committee are based on rankings of the following

• National reputation

15 points

• Leadership and activities in professional organizations

15 points

• Professional talks and presentations

15 points

• Awards and grants received

15 points

• Publications

15 points

• Professional activities on a regional, state, and national scale

10 points

• Teaching expertise

15 points

The 2020 ME Award Committee

Past President Jane Tanner, Chair


The ME Award Committee is composed of the past-president and a representative from each region elected at the regional meetings at the annual conference in even-numbered years. The 2020 ME Award Committee was elected at the 2018 Annual AMATYC Conference in Orlando, Florida.


How are Recipients and Non-Recipients Notified?

After the AMATYC Executive Board makes the decision at its spring Board meeting, the AMATYC President notifies the recipient, if any, and the ME Award Committee Chair notifies the nominators of non-recipients. Non-recipients are not notified directly.


How do I nominate somebody?

Click on the Nomination Form link to submit all nominations.  All nominations must be received no later than November 1, 2019.


Who Are The Past Winners?


Phil Cheifetz

Nassau Community College

Garden City, NY


Don Albers

Menlo College

Atherton , CA


Jean Burr Smith

Middlesex Community College

Middletown , CT


Peter Lindstrom

North Lake College

Irving , TX


Warren Page

New York City Technical College

Brooklyn , NY


Stephen Rodi

Austin Community College

Austin , TX


Dale Ewen

Parkland College

Champaign , IL


Wade Ellis, Jr.

West Valley College

Saratoga , CA


Greg Foley

Sam Houston State University

Huntsville , TX


Susan L. Forman

Bronx Community College

New York , NY


Marilyn Mays

North Lake College

Irving , TX


Karen Sharp

Mott Community College

Flint , MI


Susan S. Wood

Virginia Community College System

Richmond , VA


Sadie Bragg

Borough of Manhattan Community College

New York, NY


Edward Laughbaum

Columbus State Community College

Columbus, OH


Martha Goshaw

Seminole State College

Sanford, FL


None Awarded


Uri Treisman

University of Texas at Austin  Austin, TX
2018 Michelle Younker Owen State Community College Toledo, OH
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal