MyAMATYC   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join AMATYC
Mathematics Excellence Award Awardees 2010
Share |

Mathematics Excellence Award Recipients

The 2010 Mathematics Excellence (ME) award was presented to two outstanding mathematics educators in Boston. This award is given in even-numbered years and is intended for educators who have made outstanding contributions to mathematics or mathematics education at the two-year college level.

Sadie Bragg


Conference Video

Ed Laughbaum


Conference Video

Sadie Bragg is Provost/Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs and Professor of Mathematics at Borough of Manhattan CC. Sadie served as co-director of the AMATYC Beyond Crossroads Project (Standards for Mathematics in The First Two Years of College) and was on the writing team of the 2006 Beyond Crossroads document. She was the co-director of Project ACCCESS. She is a past president of AMATYC and served as president of the New York State Mathematics Association of Two-Year Colleges (NYSMATYC).

Sadie has served as a consultant to Children’s Television Workshop, Square One TV, and the College Board’s Educational Equality and Equity 2000 Projects. She served on the writing committee for the NSF document, Shaping the Future: New Expectations for Undergraduate Education in Science, Mathematics, Engineering and Technology. She also served as the chair of a national NSF conference on the "Integral Role of the Two-Year College in the Science and Mathematics Preparation of Prospective Teachers,” and chaired the writing team for the NSF document of the same title.

Sadie has received the President’s Awards from NYSMATYC and AMATYC, the NYSMATYC Award for Outstanding Contributions to Mathematics Education, and numerous other educational and community service awards. She holds a doctorate in the College Teaching of Mathematics from Teachers College, Columbia University, where she received the Outstanding Alumna Award from the Department of Mathematics, Science and Technology in 2005.

Ed Laughbaum is Professor Emeritus of Mathematics from Columbus State CC and recently retired as Director of the Ohio Early College Mathematics Placement Testing (EMPT) Program at The Ohio State University. His teaching career includes over 34 years at the college level and five years at the high school level.

He also was on the writing team for the 1995 AMATYC Crossroads in Mathematics Standards, and was a section writer for the 2006 AMATYC Beyond Crossroads. Professional recognitions and service include the 2004 AMATYC Presidential Award, 1997 OhioMATYC "Distinguished Service Award,” the "Exemplary Mathematics Teaching Award” from the Central Ohio Council of Teachers of Mathematics (COCTM), and the "Distinguished Teaching Award” and "Meritorious Service Award” from Columbus State Community College. He is a past-president of COCTM and past-president of the Ohio Mathematics Association of Two-Year Colleges (OhioMATYC).

Among Ed’s more than 50 publications in professional journals or by commercial publishers are several recent papers related to his current interest in how the brain functions: "The neuroscience of connections, visualizations & generalizations,” in Enhancing Mathematics with Digital Technologies, and "Generalizing patterns in algebra for long-term memory and understanding,” for the California Math Council ComMuniCator. He has also been active in the leadership of the Teachers Teaching with Technology Short Course Program.


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal