MyAMATYC   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join AMATYC
Teaching Excellence Award Winners 2003
Share |

The 2003 AMATYC Teaching Excellence Award


  • Martha Goshaw, Southeast Region, Seminole Community College in Sanford, FL
  • Stephan Kinholt, Northwest Region, Green River Community College, Auburn, WA
  • Charles J. Miller, Jr., Mid-Atlantic Region, Camden County College, Camden, NJ
  • Fred Peskoff, Northeast Region, Borough of Manhattan Community College, New York, NY
  • David Price, Southwest Region, Southeast Campus Tarrant County College, Arlington, TX
  • James E. Trefzger, Midwest Region, Parkland College, Champaign, IL
  • Katherine Yoshiwara, West Region, Los Angeles Pierce College, Woodland Hill, CA

    left to right: Danielle Potvin, Charles J. Miller, Jr., Martha Goshaw, Katherine Yoshiwara, David Price, James E. Trefzger, Stephan Kinholt, and Fred Peskoff; and AMATYC President Philip Mahler.

The 2001 - 2003 Teaching Excellence Award Committee considered a pool of outstanding nominations for this award. Quotes from two of the committee members describe the overall experience with this project. "I found the responsibility difficult but rewarding. Each of the nominee's accomplishments indeed set a very high standard of teaching and professional excellence. The opportunity to witness the high level of dedication and talent of the nominees was both inspiration and professional development for me." And "Thank you for the opportunity to learn about these outstanding people."

The awardees were honored during the Opening Session of AMATYC's annual conference in Salt Lake City. President Philip Mahler presented each awardee with a medallion from AMATYC, and Danielle Potvin of Houghton Mifflin presented each awardee with a check for $500 from Houghton Mifflin's Faculty Development Programs.

The Teaching Excellence Award is intended to honor AMATYC members whose primary assigned duty must be delivering instruction in an associate's degree program. Teaching excellence is the main focus of the award. Congratulations to each recipient of the 2003 AMATYC Teaching Excellence Award!

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal