MyAMATYC   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join AMATYC
Teaching Excellence Award Winner 2005
Share |

AMATYC's 2005

Teaching Excellence Awards

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2005 AMATYC Teaching Excellence Award:

  • Alan Jacobs, Southwest Region, Scottsdale CC
  • Carolyn Neptune, Central Region, Johnson County CC
  • Virginia W. Parks, Southeast Region, Georgia Perimeter College
  • Jack Rotman, Midwest Region, Lansing CC
  • Mary "Terrie” Teegarden, West Region, San Diego Mesa CC

The 2005 Teaching Excellence Award Committee considered a pool of outstanding nominations for this award. One committee member commented, "This was an amazing experience. I had heard from others that it would be and they were right --it exceeded my already heightened expectations. So many of the applicants were truly outstanding. It was very, very hard to provide final rankings. I found myself reading and rereading the applications.” Another wrote, "Many of the candidates had such an impressive list of accomplishments, making it very difficult to rank them. I wish the award could have been given to more than one candidate per region.”

These awardees were honored at annual AMATYC conference in San Diego during the Opening Session. President Judy Ackerman presented each awardee with a medallion from AMATYC, and Brenda Bravener-Greville of Houghton Mifflin presented each with a $500 check for professional development.

The Teaching Excellence Award is intended to honor AMATYC members whose primary assigned duty must be delivering instruction in an associate's degree program. Teaching excellence is the main focus of the award.

2005 Teaching Excellence honorees (left to right) Jack Rotman, Virginia Parks, Carolyn Neptune,
Alan Jacobs, together with President Judy Ackerman.

2005 Teaching Excellence honoree Terrie Teegarden

Brenda Bravener-Greville,
Houghton Mifflin


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal