MyAMATYC   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join AMATYC
Teaching Excellence Award Winner 2011
Share |

2011 Teaching Excellence Awardees


President Rob Farinelli with the 2011 Teaching Excellence Award Recipients (left to right):
Barbara Illowsky, Janet Teeguarden, Bronte Miller, Candice Dance, Karen Wyrick, and Florence Chambers

Six AMATYC members were honored with the 2011 Teaching Excellence Award at the 37th Annual Conference in Austin, Texas. Teaching excellence is the main focus of the award but ongoing professional development and leadership also characterize all of the awardees. The total number of nominees was one of the largest ever received, and the outstanding level of professionalism exhibited by each nominee made the work of the Teaching Excellence Committee very challenging. It is an honor to be nominated for this prestigious award, and every nominee is an outstanding two-year college mathematics instructor. Each awardee received a medallion from AMATYC, and a check for $500 from Addison Wesley and Pearson.

The awardees are Florence Chambers, Southern Maine CC; Candice Dance, Onodaga CC, NY; Barbara Illowsky, DeAnza College, CA; Bronte Miller, Patrick Henry CC; Janet Teeguarden, Ivy Tech CC, IN; and Karen Wyrick, Cleveland State CC, TN. These six faculty represent the best in teaching.

Please take the time to nominate a colleague (or yourself) for the 2013 Teaching Excellence Award.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal