MyAMATYC   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join AMATYC
Teaching Excellence Award Winners 2017
Share |

Chris Hoag, Pearson; Robert Martinez, Pierce College; Elizabeth Betzel, Columbus State Community College; Dona Boccio, Queensborough Community College; Lorinda Fattic, University of Fairbanks – Fairbanks; Sophia Georgiakaki, Tompkins Cortland Community College; Robert Cappetta, University of Illinois, Chicago; Kendall Jacobs, Casper College; Kimberley McHale, Hartland Community College; and Jane Tanner, AMATYC President


2017 AMATYC Teaching Excellence Awardees


The AMATYC Teaching Excellence Award was recently presented at the 43rd Annual AMATYC Conference in San Diego, California to eight AMATYC members. Recipients of the award were Elizabeth Betzel, Dona Boccio, Robert Cappetta, Lorinda Fattic, Sophia Georgiakaki, Kendall Jacobs, Robert Martinez, and Kimberley McHale.


Each of the awardees is very active professionally and has made important contributions to mathematics education in the first two years of college. Ongoing professional development and leadership characterize all of the awardees, and teaching excellence is the main focus of the award.


The awardees were honored during the Opening General Session of the annual conference. President Jane Tanner presented each awardee with a medallion from AMATYC.  Chris Hoag of Pearson congratulated each awardee on stage, and Pearson sent each awardee a check for $500.  Thank you to Pearson for their continued support of the Teaching Excellence Award.


To read about some of the accomplishments of this year’s awardees, please follow the links below:


Awardee photos and biographies

Script read at the Opening General Session of the 2017 AMATYC Annual Conference


Congratulations to the 2017 AMATYC Teaching Excellence Award recipients!
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal