MyAMATYC   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join AMATYC
Teaching Excellence Award President's Letter
Share |


Teaching Excellence Award


Past winners of the Teaching Excellence Award

Every two years AMATYC presents awards at the annual conference to celebrate teaching excellence. Since 1997, AMATYC has recognized 72 excellent teachers at 12 different awards ceremonies with the prestigious AMATYC Teaching Excellence (TE) Award.


Honoring our teaching colleagues is important for several reasons:

  • There are many excellent mathematics faculty who teach. Many do not receive the recognition they deserve and this award helps to recognize a few of them.
  • The award gives the ability to show excellent mathematics faculty member that they are appreciated.
  • Mathematics courses touch ever degree. Students in every major would not be able to complete their degree without the help of their mathematics instructor.
  • National awards draw attention to the best mathematics instructor in the profession. Though not every excellent instructor wins the award, the award helps to honor a subset of our excellent member teachers every two years.
  • Teaching excellence is one of AMATYC’s core values. Effective teaching is one of the most important influences on student learning.


Nominations for the 2021 awards will be reviewed by a committee chaired by AMATYC President-Elect, Laura Watkins. Members of the committee are representatives from each of AMATYC’s eight regions and one at-large adjunct member. They include Chris Yuen (Northeast), Chris Ward (MidAtlantic), Debbie Garrison (Southeast), Diane Koenig (Midwest), Susan Bornsen (Central), Patrick Kimani (Southwest), Kendall Jacobs (Northwest), Spencer Bartholomew (West), and Pat Barrientos (At-large).


The next awards will be presented at the 2021 Annual AMATYC Conference in Phoenix, AZ, which will be held October 18-31, 2021.


The deadline to submit a nomination for the 2021 TE Award is December 10, 2020.  More information can be found on the related links above. Contact Laura or your region’s representative with any questions.


Kathryn Kozak

AMATYC President

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal